Preparing for Battle

It is the night before I head to the next battle. Tomorrow is July 10, 1943 and we will be heading to Sicily to take it over from the hands of Axis power. Thinking that war would have a positive effect on me was a mistake. Before leaving my home town, I thought how amazing life would be when I come back; for me and my family. I would be having a proud family and the girl that I love with me. Now that I take a look back on my thoughts, they were nonsense. War destroys a person’s life bye knowing that you have killed so many people, even though you were trying to protect yourself and your country, is the biggest regret. Sometimes when I am not carrying weapons, I feel naked and unprotected; thinking of being attacked any second. How would I let go of all these thoughts when I go back home? Would I always have the fears? Who knows! The terrific weather conditions that other soldiers and I went through were unforgettable. The days that we did not have any water to drink while we were walking on the hot desert of North Africa and fighting with the enemy, watching the other members of our country who we called our brothers dying and not being capable to do anything were all unforgettable. Before joining the army, I believed that I would be attending to save my country. However, now I see everything clearly. These battles are all about gaining power and no one is innocent; including the Allies. All the countries are all fighting just because they do not want to lose or let other countries to gain power. Unlike we care about our country, It is obvious that our country, Canada, does not care about its citizens’ lives. This is why I do not want to sacrifice my life for something worthless.

Leave a comment