My Experience In North Africa

imagesCAS36BDW       After my training in Switzerland for a year, we were then sent to a different place. Thinking that we were on the way to a cold place, the temperature started to rise and we realised that most of our training for skiing was for no reason. When we arrived, we found ourselves in North Africa. This battle is between the Allies vs. Italy and the Axis power and it started on June 10, 1940 when Italy declared war on the Allies five days after Germany invaded France. I am taking part in land and we are attempting to push back Italy to Libya while she is trying to invade Egypt. The conditions here are horrible because we are located in the deserts of North Africa. The weather is blazing hot. We do not wash ourselves because we need water to survive. There are bugs and other creatures that we have never seen before in our lives. At night, on the other hand, it’s really cold. Sand storms show up once in a while, covering up our belonging and even sometimes the soldiers when they are asleep. Many countries want to take over North Africa because of its oil resource and it would be easier for them to invade other parts of Middle East when they have North Africa. Though I am happy about fighting for my country, I am regretting killing all those imagesother soldiers that are just like me, trying to keep themselves alive and their country protected. However, if joining the war and killing soldiers is what makes you a man, I rather stay as a boy who is pure and never watched other’s death.

Leave a comment